About Intel I Core

Nehalem microarchitecture based

With the Nehalem microarchitecture, Intel introduced a new naming scheme for its Core processors. As before, there are four variants, now Core i3, Core i5, Core i7 and Core i9, but the names no longer corresponds to specific technical features like the number of cores. Instead, the brand is now divided from mid-range (i3) to high-end (i7, i9)[3]. As of September 2009, only Core i5 and Core i7 processors have been released, while Core i3 and Core i9 have been shown at the Intel Developer Forum and announced by Intel[4]. Common features of all Nehalem based processors include an integrated DDR3 memory controller as well as QuickPath Interconnect or PCI Express and Direct Media Interface on the processor replacing the Front-side bus used in all earlier Core processors. Also, all these processors have 256 KB second-level cache per core, plus up to 12 MB shared level 3 cache. Because of the new I/O interconnect, chipsets and mainboards from previous generations can no longer be used with Nehalem based processors.

Core i3

When the Core 2 brand is phased out in 2010, it is expected to be succeeded by the Core i3 along with the already released Core i5 and Core i7 processors. The first Nehalem based Core i3 was announced to be Clarkdale with an integrated GPU and two cores[5]. The same processor will also be available as Core i5 and Pentium, with slightly different configurations.

According to some sources, existing Core 2 processors based on Yorkfield, Wolfdale and Penryn may also get rebranded to Core i3[6].

Core i5

Core i5, like Core i7, is based on the Nehalem microarchitecture. The first Core i5 was introduced on September 8, 2009 and is a mainstream variant of the Core i7, initially only quad-core desktop processors based on Lynnfield, with dual-core mobile (Arrandale) and desktop processors (Clarkdale) following in 2010.

Core i7

As of 2009, Core i7 is the high end of the Core brand, which was introduced with the Bloomfield Quad-core processor in late 2008. In 2009, new Core i7 models based on the cheaper Lynnfield desktop quad-core processor and the Clarksfield quad-core mobile were added, and models based on the Arrandale dual-core mobile processor have been announced.

Core i9

The final addition to the Nehalem based Core processor lineup will be the Core i9 brand in 2010, with the six-core Gulftown core inside[7]. Gulftown uses the same socket as Bloomfield, so Core i9 can be seen as an upgrade to the Core i7-9xx series.


1 Comment

  1. Brilliant article bro. This unique is just a totally nicely structured posting, just the important information I was hunting regarding. Cheers

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s